ESPNcricinfo Awards: Kohli named captain of the year, England's Ben Stokes bags award for batting and Stuart Broad for bowling

Virat Kohli, who led India to nine wins out of 12 Tests last year, has been named as the 'Captain of the Year' at the 10th annual ESPNcricinfo Award.

While English player Ben Stokes won the Test Batting Performance of the Year, his team-mate Stuart Broad bagged the Test Bowling Performance of the Year award.

Stokes was selected for the award for his incredible counter-attacking innings of 258 runs off 198 balls against South Africa in Cape Town. Stuart Broad's 6 for 17 in the third Test which ensured a series victory for England fetched him the Test Bowling Performance of the Year award.

Winners were selected by an independent jury including former cricket greats, ESPNcricinfo's senior editors, writers and global correspondents, comprising Ian Chappell, Mahela Jayawardene, Ramiz Raja, Isa Guha, Sambit Bal, Courtney Walsh, Mark Butcher and Simon Taufel among others.

Quinton de Kock's 178 against Australia in Centurion was the second-highest individual score by a South African player, and it was voted the ODI Batting Performance of the Year.

Mystery spinner Sunil Narine was awarded the ODI Bowling Performance of the Year award for his 6 for 27 against South Africa in the Tri-Nation series in Guyana.

Carlos Brathwaite received the T20 Batting Performance of the Year award for his 34 not out against England in the World T20 final in Kolkata, in which he hit four consecutive sixes off the last over to win West Indies the match.

Bangladesh left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman took away the T20 Bowling Performance of the Year award for his 5 for 22 during the World T20 against New Zealand in Kolkata.

Mehedi Hasan Miraz, one of the brightest young stars of Bangladesh's national team, was declared Debutant of the Year for his 19 wickets in the two Test matches against England, one of those being possibly their finest Test win ever.

This year ESPNcricinfo introduced awards for women's cricket across all three international formats.

West Indian Hayley Williams received the Batting Performance of the Year award for her match-winning 66 off 45 balls performance in the World T20 final against three-time champions Australia.

Leigh Kasperek, the talented New Zealand offspinner, took the Bowling Performance of the Year award for her 3 for 13 spell, defeating Australia in the teams' World T20 group match.

Sambit Bal, Editor-in-chief of ESPNcricinfo The ESPNcricinfo Awards are about meaning and context, so we are chuffed a ten-ball innings sits beside a score of 258 in the list of winners. There is delight and irony in the fact that these two performances belong to Carlos Brathwaite and Ben Stokes, whose names will be forever entwined for those dramatic four balls in the World T20 final.

He also added that the tenth year has seen some inspirational talent come to the fore and they are pleased to introduce winners from women and Associates cricket this year.

With inputs from agencies

The content does not represent the perspective of UC
Read Full Story in UC Browser
Share to your friends
Hot Comments
Read More Comments
Check out the amazing machines at Dairy Farm